Just keep breathing
I’m trying but
Wheezing whining
crying alone
In the dark
The elephant
It’s on my chest
And it’s giving
delighted gifts;
(huge butt wiggles)
While I still try
furiously
futilely fight
The constant war
Between the lines
Belief and faith
Someone else’s
Views of what is
Right or always wrong.
But Gods damn it!
I know I’m right,
for once, I am

So sick of it;
viewed as less than
intelligent
Based on nothing
Stupidity.
I have a mind
I use it, too
Yes I am blonde
I am not dumb
My brain works, too
Smarter than you
I know it, but
Just because I
Don’t shove my smart
Down anyone’s
Throat, doesn’t mean
You can insult
Make assumptions
Tell me I’m wrong
When the monster
On my heart is
Waking me dying
From lack of breath
From lack of faith
Broken-hearted
Trying to breathe
through the cotton
Shoved in my mouth
(The gagged can’t scream)
While this stupid
Elephantine
Weight of burden
Twerks on my chest
And I lay here
Continuing
To struggle, gasp
Just. Keep. Breathing.

©MelanieMcCurdie2017

COMING MAY 2017 TO FEAR FRONT PUBLISHING

ROLL THE BEAUTIFUL BONES

Leave a Reply

