I bury it deep
There, in the backyard
by the smallish graves
of all of our pets –
The poor things, they’re missed
I bury it deep
Lay in the decay
pitiful corpses
In the lighter dark
one ray of sunshine
That reaches this place

I bury it deep
Next to the bodies,
where it is safe, warm
Spilled in sacrifice
The blood damp soil thirsts

The neighbourhood, silent
I sit in the yard
thinking that its just
another dead seed
But maybe, with love,
with attention –
the fertilizer,
I can watch it grow
safe, warm in the sun

Perhaps it will be 
A lovely small rose
It may not be perfect
Hidden in the dark
I can see petals
bourgeoning life
opening slowly
like a virgin’s legs
Light, delight, breathe
Enticing to glow
Spread its glistening folds


But maybe, with luck,
I can watch it die
Watch it darken, bleed
raw at the edges,
its petals drooping
Blackening with w
ilt
A flower, that seed
Returned to the Earth
Ashes to dashes
headpot or flowerpot
I buried it deep
There, in the backyard
But maybe, with love,
with attention –
Hidden in the dark
I can watch it grow
I can watch it die
One day –
it hasn’t happened
Yet

©MelanieMcCurdie2017

Leave a Reply

