Pills

Pills

They make them look so pretty
Brightly coloured like candy
Anyone who has taken antibiotics
Knows this is a baldfaced cheat
They do not taste like jellybeans

They do make a nifty rattle though
Like a lame ass maraca
If you are stuck for accompaniment

They tell lies
Like it’ll be quieter
Or you’ll be able to think
Or you’ll be able to smile



Quieter would be nice
I think too much so fuck that
Smile …

Truth is
I don’t see much to smile about. I’m trying find that silver lining
And it’s an exhausting task
I’m struggling and I’ve fallen silent
Because I can’t speak

Four words to describe my last effort

Colossal Waste Of Time

Pills.
They lie.
If I listened to them,
Life would be roses and peaceful
I’d be able to think
I’d have forever to enjoy it too
Because I’d be in the ground.

They do make a nifty rattle though.

©MelanieMcCurdie2016

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Pills

Leave a Reply

