I starve myself, deprive myself
So you can’t see me
Out of sight, out of mind
Peek a boo I’m still here
It’s my own failing
And my own damned fault
For letting myself be shoved aside
This time I’m out of care
Humanity is blinded by their own hand
Choosing to look solely at the opaque
Farther down is too far to go
Skin deep is rather shallow and
Eye candy is just empty calories
Certainly not nourishment
Soul food is sustenance for survival
What a sweet treat to find both
Encased in one gilt wrapped gift
Sometimes the true horror lies in the mind refraction
Where no one can escape reality

Girl 2© MelanieMcCurdie2016

Leave a Reply

