Sleepwalker

I know you hate it when I watch you sleep

I don’t care and do it anyway,

You’re not aware of my stare and its just as well

My watchful gaze makes you nervous

Gives you the creeps, were your words, as I recall

I still don’t care.

Observing your eyes move behind the thin membrane

Lost in a dream, you speak foul atrocities

Fist flying in a fury of blows.

From my little lost world, I watch the fight

Helpless to end it, powerless to change the outcome

Unwilling to test fate and chance wrath

As I detest the sensitivity of purple I love yous under my skin

The ones you bring when the Demon takes control again

I prefer the sweet wine of kisses to the bitter gall of defeat

It’s no victory to lay in wait of the next skirmish

When night has fallen and Morpheus demands my sacrifice.

12311285_10153669923140851_5453216581517975899_n

©MelanieMcCurdie2016

Books available on Amazon for Kindle and in Paperback
Books available on Amazon for Kindle and in Paperback
Minus Cover final
Available Now
Leave a Reply

