Fire
Feel it lick at the edges
My skin a fury
The internal debate
Exquisite pain as I burn
BURN
Eyes the igniter
Surface reflecting a deeper yearning
A blowtorch to the chill, the knowing

·

Cravings intensify, temptation tremors
They double, treble
Blown apart as they depart
None stand before strength
Of mind, as it faces desire
I weep in its presence
Warm to the touch, it incinerates
It destroys as it adores
Endures, never absent

·

Heart blackened, iridescent as the raven’s wing,
It joyfully roars, freedom rings
I drift to peaceful, peaceable dreams
Safe in the knowledge
I can overcome,
Even filled with flames
I smoulder as I turn to ash

·

@MelanieMcCurdie2015

12311285_10153669923140851_5453216581517975899_n

Leave a Reply

