Yellow Lined Sheets

I find myself sitting on the bench
Beside the path, where we used to run
and play as children, innocent and free
Where we grew love, planted it deep
in the soil of our souls,  and pledged forever
Here, where we folded our vows
on yellow lined sheets
Stuffed in the cracks of the wood
Notes written in the burning blood of our passion
How we burned for life, then.
We were invincible, bulletproof, immortal
Human and fallible,
Simply meat sacks at Fate’s Will
But we didn’t know it
the_twisted_path_group_Sheets
I find myself sitting on the bench
Beside the path, where we used to run
As I do each year since you left me
Leaving my love on yellowed lined sheets
Buried in the soil, not of my soul
But in the ground
Where lilies of the valley grow
Where you lay, ashes to dust
I miss you
image
@MelanieMcCurdie2015
All Rights Reserved
One thought on “Yellow Lined Sheets

Leave a Reply

