When I’m afraid

When it’s late at night
And you lay sleeping
Down the hall the kids lay dreaming
And I’m awake struggling to breath
That’s when I’m afraid.

·

When I’m on my own
The house is too quiet
All I hear is the sound of my thoughts
And the sound of my heart in my ears
That’s when I’m afraid.

·

When I’m in the shower alone
The water nearly boiling
Washing my cares away
My hands come away covered in hair
That’s when I’m afraid.

·

When I’m so tired that I cry
Helpless and exhausted
Away from prying eyes, and harsh words
And I truly think of ending it all
That’s when I’m terrified.

·

When I see the world in a different light
So much love and too much hate
I wonder if we will ever learn
And whether it’s worth it to try
If we will never know more than that
That’s when I’m afraid.

Malevolant_majesty_afraid

Leave a Reply

