Over and over

It happens

I stand against the wall

Back as far against as I can

 

He runs past me

I feel the wind on my face

Smell the cologne he is wearing

We are outside on the roof

Up high, there are birds flying

Closer to my head

I hear him wailing

I’m sorry

Please come home

imagesCACUJDSA

She is on the ledge

So close to the edge

She shakes her head

Hand on her stomach

The other over her eyes

The wind roars in my ears

As it rushes out of my chest

 

Her hand drifts from her face

She mouths I love you

And falls away

Oh the scream

Not from her

She is silent as the grave

imagesCA3INGNU

From him, he shrieks

Hanging over the edge

Arms outstretched

All the air is gone

It ripples, it churns

The air is visible

I’m on the floor

Head on my knees

Trying to breathe

I stand again

Gaining my equilibrium again

 

He runs past me

I feel the wind on my face

Smell the cologne he is wearing

 

Death Maiden

8 thoughts on “Standing on the Edge

Leave a Reply

