Prey….Prey

Tick
Tick
Tick
The clock calling out
The death of each minute
As the ticking of the
Death Beetle
Warns of the doom
Of a loved one
The leaves rustle their
Skeletal song
Whispering
Coming
It’s coming

The Padre’s skull
It bounces before me
Waving and bobbing
Like the plaything
Of the beyond
Eyes alight with glee
Flickering
A fire demon cavorting
In the empty sockets
It too calls
Whining like the wind
Teeth chattering promises
Forgiveness denied
Now on your knees and
Prey, prey sinner

And I do
I fall to my knees
In my mind I falter
Stagger, suffer
My body graceful
As it moves
Slipping in and out
Of my shadows
Lovely creeping
Smothering concealing
Shadows
As I Prey
Prey

Death Maiden

10 thoughts on “Prey….Prey

  1. I felt the pain, the anguish and the anger. Your words take us on a true journey of the mind Never stop for you are most splendid my Kindred.

  2. Reblogged this on and commented:
    I have no words for this Grueheads. Keeper is at a loss. If ever a piece of Dark Poetry evoked a truly original reaction then Prey is it. Read and feed on her exquisite prose.
    Keeper

Leave a Reply

